Admit Achievers

What is the structure of IELTS test ?

There are four sections in the IELTS test: Listening, Reading, Writing, and Speaking. The Listening and Speaking sections are common for both the Academic and General Training modules, while the Reading and Writing sections are different sets of questions.

The Listening section consists of four recordings of native English speakers, covering various contexts and accents. Test-takers listen to the recordings and answer a series of questions, demonstrating their ability to understand spoken English.

The Reading section contains three long texts, taken from books, magazines, journals, or newspapers. Test-takers are required to read the texts and answer a variety of questions, assessing their reading comprehension and ability to locate specific information, understand main ideas, and identify supporting details.

The Writing section consists of two tasks. Task 1 in the Academic module requires test-takers to describe, summarize, or explain visual information presented in the form of graphs, charts, or diagrams. In the General Training module, Task 1 involves writing a letter in response to a given situation. Task 2 in both modules requires test-takers to write an essay expressing their opinion, discussing a problem, or providing arguments on a specific topic.

The Speaking section is an interview with an examiner. It assesses the test-taker’s ability to communicate orally in English. The interview covers a range of topics and includes three parts: an introduction and general questions, a short speech on a given topic, and a discussion on related questions.

Scroll to Top

Submit your details and we will reach out. Alternatively, you can reach us at +91 88260 31820

Pop Up Form
Supporting Subheading

Want to know where to start your Study Abroad Plans?

Connect with our experts for a FREE counselling session to kick-start your Study Abroad aspirations